BOOM!!

nightvisionexplosions.jpg

I enjoyed my 4th of July with a dear friend, dangling our legs in a hot tub on a rooftop deck that offered sweeping views of at least 6 different firework displays. As the crowd in the rooftop ooohhhed and ahhhhed and smoke and gun powder filled the air, I thought of Tikrit.

As each of the displays reached their culmination and the crowds cheers of approval interspersed with the concussive booms that vibrated the building, I thought of Fallujah.

As my toes danced against the hot tub jets, I was struck with the notion that in many parts of the world, explosions were going off and buildings were shaking and the cries that were being heard were not in awe and delight but fear and desolation. Watching the fiery explosions on every point of the horizon, I wondered what it must be like to live with it daily.

I really would have preferred to be able to enjoy a glass of wine and think about hot dogs and BBQ, but alas, the piped in America the Beautiful failed in making me feel patriotic, and only made me think of the independence that bombs deceitfully promise to bring. From Palestine to Iraq, in Nicaragua, the UK and South Central someone is blowing something up trying to carve out the tiniest bit of independence and freedom.

I, of course, wasn’t it the Palestinian territories, or Iraq, but a lovely roof in Miami. The explosions I watched were in fact beautiful and awe inspiring (and I obviously should have had more wine so I could have thought less, ooohhhhed more). At least for this go round.

This goes out to everyone watching an explosion, whether in fear or in fun.

 

Post-track: Outkast: B.O.B.

37 Responses to “BOOM!!”

  1. nation Says:

    those were my my exact thought saturday night during the Canada Day fireworks

  2. nation Says:

    btw… we’re gonna have to have a conversation and about 10 zshare links about you shitting on Lauryn in the last thread, like a forgot about that

  3. EnglandRepresent Says:

    Good on you Greenie. I got some peoples out in Fallujah gettin shot at as we speak (shout out to Crouch), I got my manz G in Basra and I got my homie Nook in Baghdad. Big ups to all the service personnel out there fighting a war which they don’t want to. Come home safe. And also big ups to the innocent civilians in all of this bullshit, all of the peoples gettin shot up, bombed, dismembered for something they don’t want any part of. And lastly fuck the tyrant political leaders who drag our peoples in to this bollocks for their own selfish gain.

    Good post Greenie, and yes, you fine girl (you know what I’m referring to) 😉

  4. G7 Says:

    BOOM!! Guess who stepped in the room?
    Streetsweeper out, ready to vacuum(c) R. Noble

  5. the audience Says:

    Great post Ms. Green

    It’s all too easy for us to forget those on the opposite side of the spectrum,
    and how the same things we use to celebrate are the same things used to make us mourn.

  6. green eyes Says:

    thank you fellas.

    lol @ nation– i didnt shit on lauryn, i just used her as an example. i love lauryn. but bring it on. 🙂

  7. nation Says:

    your unplugged 2.0 is in the mail. meanwhile go pick up those two lauryn tracks i posted on my blog and be ashamed of yourself

  8. Rey aka Optimus Pr-Emo Says:

    Damm.. Makin’ me think on an empty stomach..

  9. green eyes Says:

    nation Says:

    your unplugged 2.0 is in the mail. meanwhile go pick up those two lauryn tracks i posted on my blog and be ashamed of yourself

    ^ yes sir.

  10. Big Homie Says:

    I was in Waldorf MD, way out from Washington DC, and can still see the fireworks from the city. I thought about the same thing as well. The people around the neighborhood I was in was popping fireworks off as well…smoke filling up the streets, sounds of fireworks. I ducked a few times..lol

  11. I Fux aka Willy Mo Swagger Says:

    Yo Yesterday felt like the longest day ever, I was jet skiing by 10am and crashed out at home at 9pm ….coming into work today= disgusting

    Locked out of nah right now

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBBkZ1ee5XY

    ^^proceeds to bump this ish

    Yo Greenie I have Cousins in Kirkuk who I havent spoken to in over a year and I have made a trip to Iraq in over 15 years but its not like I am in a hurry to get back

  12. I Fux aka Willy Mo Swagger Says:

    by the way I was trying to figure out if the grumble in my stomach is being caused by a hangover or love sickness, I met the flyest bird yesterday at the beach she is about 5’5 tan blondish hair latina precise body and she actually came up to me and broke the ice with “Nice Sneakers” “I was like thanks nice smile” and then it was over man was she bad we talked for about 15 minutes exchanged numbers and ventured off seperate ways …….Leah is her name small world that it is she said she had seen me around and said where and when and sure enough I was there………I am in a connudrom(sp) ………proceeds to bump http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBBkZ1ee5XY

  13. green eyes Says:

    wait fuxie, so you’re saying you didnt already smash six or seven times and cheat on her woth her sister? you’re slippin papa!

  14. I Fux aka Willy Mo Swagger Says:

    green eyes Says:

    July 5th, 2007 at 12:56 pm
    wait fuxie, so you’re saying you didnt already smash six or seven times and cheat on her woth her sister? you’re slippin papa!

    ^^nah but she went to high school with my baby moms just a few years younger as my baby moms is 26 and this girl is 23 so she was a freshman when my baby moms was a senior…….yes plot thickens in the matrix ……….ohh and she has Neo qualities, yes the 1

  15. I Fux aka Willy Mo Swagger Says:

    But I doubt she knew or put it together but one of her friends will put her on once she says my name. since Aram is uncommon and I am probably the only one around these parts with that name. I just figured it out myself when she said she was class of 02 and my baby moms is 99 …its always bound to happen in the circle I run with since the beach is just a hop and a skip away and us latinos know everybody, yes peoples

  16. green eyes Says:

    lol

  17. Phuque Says:

    Fux whaddup fam?

  18. I Fux aka Willy Mo Swagger Says:

    Whats good Phuq just locked out of Nah

  19. Phuque Says:

    damn again? no good…how was your 4th?

  20. I Fux aka Willy Mo Swagger Says:

    went to the beach got hammered met a nice looking girl crashed out at 9:30 pm ……..and wassup with you do anything ….saw you’re new post left a comment jic

  21. Phuque Says:

    went to the beach got hammered met a nice looking girl crashed out at 9:30 pm ……..and wassup with you do anything ….saw you’re new post left a comment jic

    ^^Word…thanks…naw nothing special, just chilled with fam and took my ass right on to bed….I fuckin’ hate days off in the middle of the week…

  22. I Fux aka Willy Mo Swagger Says:

    Word Phuq, from my crib you can see some fireworks ….but its not really my thing anyways ..Ya I had to come in today just to make sure my workers showed up

  23. I Fux aka Willy Mo Swagger Says:

    “this drink is becoming more and more popular amongst niggas”(c) Phuque the blogger not the commentater

  24. Phuque Says:

    “this drink is becoming more and more popular amongst niggas”(c) Phuque the blogger not the commentater

    ^^lol

  25. The-XFacta Says:

    Sup Greenie.. The 4th of aight for me, was moving and all… I see you had a good time.. Stay Up!

  26. ESKAYKILLIN' TIME Says:

    hey greenie got a link for nahright today?

  27. ESKAYKILLIN' TIME Says:

    cant get thru the news this time

  28. HOWLIN' WOLF Says:

    YOU HERE GREENIE?

  29. HOWLIN' WOLF Says:

    the last post was at 446. so i missed it huh?

  30. HOWLIN' WOLF Says:

    whats good.

  31. HOWLIN' WOLF Says:

    i can read the comments but cant post.

  32. HOWLIN' WOLF Says:

    tell eskay to fix that shit allready or admit he banned me.

  33. LL(not the rappa) Says:

    nice post green…for a second yesterday I also had the same thought.

  34. Jamz (The Aspiring iPOD Kang) Says:

    Let’s stop fightin each other and start lovin each other…LOL!

    I hope you saved me some ribs and kool-aid Greena?

  35. lo k Says:

    good post… I felt the same exact way… I went to a party where fools were throwin’ fireworks at each other (literally) and then one of the neighbors decided to bring out the heavy shit… I’m talkin’ mortars and other large explosives that you’re not supposed to light in densely populated areas… shit was insane! I’m talking about the sounds of what could have been repeated rounds of large caliber weaponry being lit to the delight of everyone on the block… since I was inside for the most part (sparks were raining all over the place and the smoke cloud was insane) it really did sound like war was going on and that’s all I could think of was the fact that people deal with that everyday like it’s normal…

    definitely thankful to be in one piece… one love to all y’all!

  36. Mac Brown pka Pretty Johnny Says:

    The servers tripping at the NR

    Kicks feet back…..

  37. green eyes Says:

    lol… you know you always got a guest bed here.

Leave a Reply

