A Great Day in Hip Hop

 

harlem03jpg7ce.jpg

Back in the day I was an avid Hip Hop magazine subscriber, The Source, VIBE, Blaze (yeah I know), XXL. XXL was usually the one that never disappointed me, and when I opened my mailbox in December 1998, it solidified a special place in my cold little Hip Hop loving heart.

The cover photo was taken by Gordon Parks and was a Hip Hop recreation of Art Kane’s seminal Jazz masters portrait “A Great Day in Harlem”. Like Kane’s picture, Park’s version brought together a veritable who’s who of Hip Hop greats, legends and up and comers overflowing on the stoops and sidewalks of three brownstones in Harlem. Rakim, Fat Joe, Fab 5 Freddy, Da Brat, Peter Gunz, Shyheim, Yoga Russ, Q-Tip, Cee-Lo, Sticky Fingaz, Debbie Harry, Wyclef, Jermaine Dupri, Luke, Kool Herc, E-40. All regions were well represented, and by all reports, the scene was all love, respect and peace. M’fuckers were able to put their egos aside, come through Harlem, and take a picture that represented the strength and power of Hip Hop.

Times sure have changed as it’s doubtful that a photo like this would ever be taken today given that the current sate of Hip Hop contains more beef than a Brazilian churrascaria. Just getting some members of the same crews in one room is impossible, much less every significant rapper in the game, all of which makes the ’98 shot even more historic. It was good for Hip Hop. It was good for Hip Hop fans.

During some feng shui inspired cleaning fit a few years ago, I tossed the original copy of the magazine, an act which I’m still kicking myself over. Fortunately, I still have a poster of that iconic image rolled up waiting to be framed and hung as a tangible reminder of one of my favorite moments in Hip Hop.

22 Responses to “A Great Day in Hip Hop”

  1. Mac Brown Says:

    foist…………

  2. green eyes Says:

    you win!

  3. Thugged Out Uteris Puncher Says:

    We need more violence in hip hop

    CLACK CLACK CLACK

  4. Big Homie Says:

    That is a classic pic. Hip Hop will probably never be like this. Too much jealously, hate going on. It has its goods and bads.

  5. the audience Says:

    That is the greatest pic in hip hop history….the true essence of hip hop.

    The one the South did a while ago was also great.

    We (they) need to get back to the basics, and kill the theatrics.

  6. cOLD Says:

    i’m buying greenie’s book when it drops.

  7. green eyes Says:

    ^the official, not the xeroxed bootleg

  8. Big Homie Says:

    When is the book dropping? Does a bottle of your bath water included with purchase of book Greenie?

  9. lo k Says:

    “the current sate of Hip Hop contains more beef than a Brazilian churrascaria”

    ^^ hysterical! is that reference inspired by our mention of Brazilians not being Latino? I would love to see more unity in hiphop, but that would be too easy, that would be like the top 1% of this country letting go of enough wealth to stop the poverty crisis… maybe in a perfect world (or in another 10 years when this industry collapses on itself) another picture like this can be taken, but maybe that’s just wishful thinking…

    and on that note I’m gonna go listen to that new single with G-Unit/Dipset/TS/Murda Inc/Jay/Pharell and Lil Jon while Crankin’ 20 different dances from ATL before jumping into a pool with a plugged in toaster… “make sure you get my pool in the back” (c) Cam

  10. Rey aka Optimus Pr-Emo Says:

    Amen, Greenita.

  11. green eyes Says:

    @ big homie– you know it!! the first few collectors edition copies at least.

    lol @ lo k

  12. smack a ninja cabbage Says:

    word up green one

  13. Jamz Says:

    I still remember when the Source was the shyt! The reviews, fat tapes & unsigned hype were the hiphop gospel! XXL did create an historical moment with that photo though. Don’t feel bad Greena because I tossed my copy in the trash too…

  14. lo k Says:

    smh @ continued conversations about 50 at nah… can someone please talk to me about someone other than 50? how about them Dems?

  15. lo k Says:

    *locusts*

  16. I Fux aka Willy Mo Swagger Says:

    Yo I had that issue, Hip-hop was dope I used to Love H.E.R.

  17. nation of moderation Says:

    SMH… this was worth mentioning

    http://www.mtv.com/bands/m/my_block/atlanta/news_feature_120505/

  18. Davey D Says:

    i wish i still had that issue, is there any chance of getting a big pic of it?

  19. industryfinest Says:

    I would love to see a Big Picture!!!

  20. Adrienne Says:

    I’m looking for this poster as a Christmas present (2009) for my husband. Does anyone have it? Interested in selling it? Know how to get it? Please reply to this post if you’re able to help.

    Much thanks,
    Adrienne

  21. Christine Says:

    I’m looking for this for my husband as well. I haven’t been able to find ti ANYwhere! I’m not sure if my email address will show, but if you have it, or know where I can bo it (before valentine’s day) PLEASE drop me a line
    icarress at gmail . com

    THANKS!

  22. Christine Says:

    I’m looking for this for my husband as well. I haven’t been able to find ti ANYwhere! I’m not sure if my email address will show, but if you have it, or know where I can buy it (before valentine’s day) PLEASE drop me a line
    icarress at gmail . com

    THANKS!

Leave a Reply

