Dear Mama

afeni.jpg

I’m not a Suge Knight fan. Never was. I think he has profited off the exploited work of rappers for years, so when it was reported that Afeni Shakur was taking his bitch ass to court to stop him from trying to auction off unreleased Tupac tracks amidst his considerable bankruptcy claims, it was cause for celebration.

I hope she wins the injunction and reclaims the tracks. But further, I hope she takes these unreleased tracks and keeps them as such. When your posthumous releases are in excess of those you authorized and released while you were living, something is wrong. See, when an artist chooses not to release a track, it’s generally for a very specific reason- they don’t thinks its good enough. When an artist doesn’t finish track, a lot of times it means they didn’t think it was worth it.

Now, obviously there are other reasons- it didn’t fit with the theme and scope if the album, or the studio time ran out. For the most part, when an artist has eleventythousand CDs worth of unreleased tracks- the bulk of them should have stayed as such. Not mixed, mastered, and produced. Not turned into duets. Not released, diluting what was arguably a tenable legacy within Hip Hop.

Here is hoping Afeni wins, Suge loses and Tupac finally rests.

36 Responses to “Dear Mama”

  1. Greeneyes aspiring weedcarrier Says:

    tit didn’t fit with the theme and scope if the album, or the studio time ran out
    ^^^^^
    tit = it(?)

  2. Fidel Cashflow Says:

    While the majority of 2Pac’s posthumous albums have deteriorated his legacy(there were a few gems). I’m a Suge Knight fan so I can’t really knock his hustle either.

  3. green eyes Says:

    good edit E.

    i just cant fuck with suge. i want to pop his dumb ass upside the head a time or two

  4. Fidel Cashflow Says:

    Oh yeah, he’s a horrible person. But, he built an empire and made a huge impact on hip hop.

    Also he extorted Vanilla Ice(what’s not to like,ayo?)

  5. green eyes Says:

    ^ okay.. that im totally okay with

  6. green eyes Says:

    night E

  7. Fidel Cashflow Says:

    Later Greenie

  8. EnglandRepresent Says:

    Good post Greenie.

    I for one wish a fuckin terminal case of penal warts (ayo) on Suge Knight. I fuckin hate that prick, I say this with no knowledge of him as a person but that nigga had the Messiah aka Big Poppa gunned up, ain’t two ways about it. Nigga can catch a brain seizure as far as I’m concerned.

    Fuck Suge Knight.

  9. Big Homie Says:

    I do not think ‘Pac will ever rest. Suge will do anything to make some dough now especially that he is broke. He was probably going to do it anyways because of the type of person he is.

    Speaking of this topic, the Biggie Duets were horrible. Both men’s unlease music should just be kept alone and we should just live off the classics thats already out.

  10. Rey aka Kany-Emo West Says:

    Cosign Greenita.

    The tenth anniversaries of BIG and ‘Pac have passed, it’s time to let them go, and that includes everybody swacking their lyrics, inflections, beats, image etc etc.

  11. Big Homie Says:

    Yup. To release a greatest hits album is cool. But when you release unreleased material that the late ones probably didnt want release for a reason to make you money……and doing a duets album grabbing anything you can find and put an artist(s) on the track as well so they get paid too is just fucked up in my opinion.

    Its mess like that, that gives these legends a bad name later on. Let the classics hang and let them rest in peace

  12. G7 Says:

    Suge is a homo

  13. the audience Says:

    I think instead of turning these unreleased tracks into the abominations that they have become, they should stay in be turned into literary works for publishing….. better to be seen than heard.

  14. The-XFacta Says:

    Suge is a crook… Bum Ass Nicca!

  15. el_feces_loco Says:

    Greens..Waddup..on point as usual with the topic but the shit starter in me will say this..I don’t think an unselfish artist such as Pac would mind that all his work was being released..I say this with all respect …as far as his work goes..i think he’d want the world to see his fucked up lyrics as well as the gems..He always was a master of balance..something rappers nowadays lack.

  16. lo k Says:

    “she’s the new Beyonce” = wow!

  17. green eyes Says:

    feces.. i agree to an extent… i can go with tracks that were mostly completed, but most of the stuff coming out ow on the 45th posthumous release are tracks like him ordering pizza in the studio, but the mic was on. cats are like yo– Pac’s voice? recorded? shit lets make an album! its outta control.

  18. lo k Says:

    smh @ the fact that I just got another new pac track in my inbox yesterday…

  19. Phuque Says:

    GOOD POST….I agree 100%. Suge’s taking Pac’s outtakes and slapping them on any beat with a matching tempo….shits disgusting.

  20. Phuque Says:

    …and that wack-ass song PAC’S LIFE??? Somebody get my lawyer on the phone and tell him that I’m about to slap the shit out of Ashanti…

  21. I Fux aka Willy Mo Swagger Says:

    *joe pesci voice*
    Duets Duets focking Duets they are a disgrace to hip-hop legends ……..

    *taps greenie on right shoulder*
    *while she looks over right shoulder I come around the left*
    *sneaks kiss on lips*

    Whats good baby keep up the good work.

  22. Fidel Cashflow Says:

    Wow after reading all the comments I might be the only person in the world who dosen’t hate Suge Knight.

  23. I Fux aka Willy Mo Swagger Says:

    fidel I dont hate Suge cuz I dont have hate in my heart but dude needs to have some Tact

  24. I Fux aka Willy Mo Swagger Says:

    I actually met Suge at the club and he seemed cool even though I think me being around 3 hot chicks had a lot to do with it

  25. bxconnect Says:

    “mamas just a little girl” is the best post pac joint i ever heard.i like the other 100 plus unreleased songs better in there original form.
    suge please let that man rest in peace.

  26. Big Homie Says:

    I Fux aka Willy Mo Swagger Says:

    July 26th, 2007 at 12:04 pm
    I actually met Suge at the club and he seemed cool even though I think me being around 3 hot chicks had a lot to do with it

    ^^ My peoples met him at the BET Awards in 2006. Said he seemed like a cool dude. But we all know otherwise that he is a sneaky grimey dude that likes to play wrestle and bite people..lol

  27. No Jamz...Don't! Says:

    My bad Greena….I’m late as hell and my breakfast is cold now, but it’s cool..

    Suge is the scum of hip-hop IMO, but people like them have a place in it acutally! Everybody has abandoned him just like they did Puffy, which says a lot about them as people. Nobody likes a crook!

  28. Rey aka Kany-Emo West Says:

    GREENITA!

    I’m locked out of Eskay! Send help!

  29. Rey aka Kany-Emo West Says:

    Um.. NH

  30. green eyes Says:

    rey- try this:
    http://nahright.com/news/2007/07/27/video-swizz-beatz-money-in-the-bank/

  31. The-XFacta Says:

    Damn Rey, Where u At? (No Boost)

  32. Phuque Says:

    lol @ Reymundo….I told you not to get you Hip-hop pass revoked…you can only slip Tiny and Mo a 20 dollar bill for so long bruh…

  33. Fidel Cashflow Says:

    http://www.zshare.net/audio/28456525f5f2b7/
    ^^^^
    Pac, Kurupt, Butch Cassidy “Picture Me Rollin”

  34. lo k Says:

    *locusts*

  35. This Blog Is Poo Says:

    2Pac=G.O.A.T

  36. The Kufi Smacker Says:

    ^^^^^^

    I disagree!

Leave a Reply

