Must… Resist… Temptation

cd-bed.jpg

Yeah, I know you just ripped the packaging off your CD
If you like me you readin the credits right now

If you in your car, I don’t care if it’s winter

I want you to put all your windows down

Zone out, buckle up, let’s go

Now if you’re like me and Shawn, then you probably have the opening notes of Vol 3 going through your head right now. You’re probably bobbing your head along to the beat that is flowing through your head right now, working your fingers across you desk like a cubicle DJ. Co-workers, I’m sorry, you just don’t understand.

I remember the excitement of rushing to Best Buy on Tuesdays, copping half a dozen new CDs on a good day, at least one on a bad day. Sitting in the car, wrestling with the plastic and shoving the disc in and reading the liner notes before you left the parking lot. Thanks to MP3s that excitement is gone, mainly because we KNOW a CD is going to suck before we choose to buy it or not.

It is akin to your first time with a new lover. Part of the thrill is in the anticipation, the chase and the wonderment. The sneak previews (singles), dates (videos), late night convos (interviews) all increase your sense of wonderment If the odds are good, you end pleasantly surprised, if the goods are odd you’ll leave slightly disappointed, but at the very least you have had the experience and an anecdote to laugh about.

All this advance warning has dulled our sense of excitement, our expectation are low, our sense of foreboding high. We’re valuing our $12.99 way too much to take a chance when most of (and in most cases) all we heard is just aight. And you damn well know we’re also some cheap bastards who aren’t trying to buy the cow when the milk, the steak and the shake are free and sitting in our inboxes.

It is for this reason that I am trying my damnedest to not listen to that damn Graduation CD. If it’s subpar or if it’s the best I’ve ever heard… I want to enjoy the lead up, as fruitless a goal as that might be. So barring my own boredom, and my ipod shuffling through Graduation, I’m going to resist the urge and try to reconnect with my inner, cynical bitch of a Hip Hop fan and enjoy the experience.

17 Responses to “Must… Resist… Temptation”

  1. cOLD Says:

    Last,…which is first

  2. Rey Says:

    Word, Greenie. Me too. 1 more week. Be strong!

  3. Fidel Cashflow Says:

    Downloading is payback for all the wack albums that decieved people because of the single.

    Also I’m a cheap mofo and if something is free or can be stolen; I’ll just take and steal rather than pay.

  4. Fidel Cashflow Says:

    oh yeah my bad about sending that Graduation cd early

  5. cOLD Says:

    Word, Greenie. Me too. 1 more week. Be strong!

    ^be strong for what, the thrill lies in being one of the first to have it, rather than what Greens talking about. Waiting cop the CD is like having the opportunity to post a “first” but waiting till like 190 before commenting.

  6. Big Homie Says:

    Yea looking foward to Tuesday for some good music dropping were the days. I miss those days…I have to admit 9/11 we will relive those times with some good music.

    Vol 3 was one of those albums I waited for then too. CD is fire.

  7. cOLD Says:

    Fidel Cashflow Says:

    September 4th, 2007 at 1:53 pm
    Downloading is payback for all the wack albums that decieved people because of the single.

    Also I’m a cheap mofo and if something is free or can be stolen; I’ll just take and steal rather than pay.

    ^smart,… dont yield to marketing stragegist, who spend every waking our thinking of methods to take your hard earned money to make someone else richer. Invest that 12.99.

  8. Opininated Tall Israeli Says:

    Go buy that new Kanye, Curtis, and Kenny Chesney;

    I heard if you download music you’re more likely to get a fatal disease

    high school musical in stores now

    go buy that

  9. MadeInMilwaukee....Since1979 Says:

    Although I “stole” the Kanye, I feel what you saying greenie. Aint nothing like being at the store early and copping a new cd. Despite having kanye on my ipod already, I’m copping one on Tuesday anyway. I got to support real G.O.O.D music!

  10. green eyes Says:

    Fidel Cashflow Says:
    oh yeah my bad about sending that Graduation cd early

    ^ lol.. yeah.. if i really didnt want it i wouldnt have DL’d it

    cOLD Says:
    Word, Greenie. Me too. 1 more week. Be strong!

    ^be strong for what, the thrill lies in being one of the first to have it, rather than what Greens talking about. Waiting cop the CD is like having the opportunity to post a “first” but waiting till like 190 before commenting.

    ^^ i see where you are coming from cold, but for me the thrill is totally gone.. even being the fist to have it and listen is boring. im hoping this delay of sorts brings some of that thrill back.

  11. FuckUPayMe618 Says:

    I remember the excitement of rushing to Best Buy on Tuesdays, copping half a dozen new CDs on a good day, at least one on a bad day. Sitting in the car, wrestling with the plastic and shoving the disc in and reading the liner notes before you left the parking lot.

    ^^^Last album that made me feel like that(n/h) was the black album

  12. LL(not the rappa) Says:

    im doing the same green…i have graduation on my pc and havent listened to it yet….who knows if I’ll go out and buy(yes even tho i have the download)..eh.

  13. LL(not the rappa) Says:

    LF: fellas thats greenie in the pic…lol…now u get to see half of what she looks like.

  14. Jamz Says:

    I miss the good ole’ days of waiting for a the new shyt to drop, but I’m indifferent about it as a whole. I have been investing in music for many years, which has costed me plenty of loot over my time. Some music buys were good purchases, while others were not! At one point the industry didn’t seem to give a dayum about the consumer, so downloading has evened the playing field a lot! Getting to hear some music before you make a purchase is a blessing. Yeah, it’s probably destroying everything about music that we’ve ever loved, but it’s too late to turn back now….

    I still buy plenty of music though, so I am giving back to those artists that deserve my money…

  15. green eyes Says:

    LL(not the rappa) Says:

    LF: fellas thats greenie in the pic…lol…now u get to see half of what she looks like.

    ^ LMAO.. no its not. LL all teasing the boys…

  16. Belize Says:

    Good write up..I think ull like Graduation..if not, look at it as payment for all the downloading

  17. HHF Says:

    LL(not the rappa) Says:

    September 4th, 2007 at 10:51 pm
    LF: fellas thats greenie in the pic…lol…now u get to see half of what she looks like.

    ^^^Thas Greenie? aww suki suki nah

Leave a Reply

