The Devil Wears a Flowered Housecoat

As most of you may be aware, I tend to think Tyler Perry = the Devil. Or at least a tool of the Devil. Or at least a tool to creating some god-awful modern day minstrel shows. However, as with my prejudice against Vitamin Water, I figured in order to be truly fair and balanced (not that I actually care to be), I should give the motherfucker a chance before calling his film and TV work as coon-erific as his stage plays.

While at worst, I figured Vitamin Water might taste unpleasant, but it would ultimately give me a full days worth of vitamins, but watching his films and TV show offered no such health benefits, this my hesitation.  This weekend, however, I finally bit the bullet and was dragged saw Why Did I Get Married and a few episodes of House of Payne.  

Given that my expectation were set somewhere low on the Earth’s core, I can certainly say Why Did I Get Married met, and almost, exceeded them. I mean – at least he wasn’t running around in a dress. House of Payne however was indeed, a hot mess

Without picking apart each piece,  herein lies my issues with the man – while I can understand the plays were created for a very specific “chitlin” circuit, I cant understand how, given the enormous power and money he had been given by Hollywood, which does not, on GP, give that type of power and money to a Black man, does he continue to create work that is, well, not good.  With all the talented writers and directors, why must he continue to exist as a cartoonist, creating broadly and badly drawn caricatures of people, riddled with stereotypes? Why is subtly lost on him? Why does he write his films and television shows as though his audience is made up of complete morons who need to be beat over the head with drawn out dialogue in order to understand the exposition?

I respect where he is, what he has done for himself. Truly. That a Black man in Hollywood has been granted such power to open the doors and set the bar higher is always a beautiful thing. I just would really really like to see him actually set that bar higher, and not just be a tool for Hollywood to continue its legacy of prejudice and cooning.

Related read: Darryl James talks about Hollywood’s love for Black men in dresses

 

27 Responses to “The Devil Wears a Flowered Housecoat”

  1. cOLD Says:

    Yo green you speak truth, he’s homo, thats why hollywood fucking with him like that.

  2. cOLD Says:

    I thought eskay fixed his piece of shit server.

  3. green eyes Says:

    eskay didnt fix shit..he just used some duct tape & bubble gum

  4. smackaniggajustforlivin' Says:

    Bay bay, you gotta post this…I would be ultra interested in your take here..

    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/article2677098.ece

  5. green eyes Says:

    bay bay.. i just saw that over at Nah.. no doubt, will be the next post. thats some shit though.

  6. Dem Says:

    Tyler Durden > Tyler Perry

  7. yaboy Says:

    soo… we in here or what

  8. Jamz Says:

    FF babie…I feel your payne when it comes to Tyler and some of his projects in the past, but to place him along side the devil is a bit much…LOL! Dude is a cornball, but he is just providing entertainment just like everyone else. Why be so hard on Tyler when there was much coonery going on way before we even knew who he was. IMO folks like Eddie Murphy, Dave Chapelle, Martin Lawrence, etc. have all contributed to the coonery and stereotypes of blacks just as much as anyone else.

    Yes, Tyler’s tv show is wack, and that’s why I don’t watch it. It’s poorly written, but hopefully over time he will get better? The reality is that Tyler has a strong following now, so for him to just change is game up right now could be devistating to his career. Maybe, one day he’ll get the guts to challenge himself a little more and make a movie worthy of your viewing…LOL

  9. green eyes Says:

    so perhaps my phrasing is a bit harsh… and obviously i dint actually think the man is satan, bt you know where im coming from,

    but i do see where you’re coming from. point taken.

  10. Jamz Says:

    green eyes Says:

    October 17th, 2007 at 11:08 am
    so perhaps my phrasing is a bit harsh… and obviously i dint actually think the man is satan, bt you know where im coming from,

    but i do see where you’re coming from. point taken.

    ^^Here’s a question for you Greena.

    Do you think that it’s possible for a comedian based actor/writer to become filthy rich in Hollywood without having some coonery/stereotypes in their body of work?

  11. Big Homie Says:

    I understand what you mean. The last movie I saw of his, was “Daddys Little Girls” some girl dragged me to see it by the way. It was funny, but it was such a hot mess. He could of done better. First and last T.P movie

  12. pHallThEwAy_objecto Says:

    If it was ‘in-house’ it would be mildy acceptable (by me)… however it’s coonery for the world to see and further make the life of the black man/woman a living hell (as if it’s not already) and THAT i have a problem… too bad when he start getting some sense he’ll be reduced to making indie films… that’s just the way it goes… which in itself is not a bad thing but we have been brain washed to think that we only have certain avenues (hollywood, MTV)to make loot and so indie films just don’t cut it…

  13. pHallThEwAy_objecto Says:

    ^
    ^basically we fucked

    *takes off tin foil hat*
    nice post…
    note: and house of payne has got to be the worst TV show EVER NEVER (c)outcast… I thought it would be cancelled after the first run but you know, shows that perpetuate (sp?) stereotypes don’t get canceled as much as other shitty shoes
    ^
    Fuckers (much disrespect to the TV networks)

  14. OnPoint Says:

    smackaniggajustforlivin’ Says:

    October 17th, 2007 at 10:40 am
    Bay bay, you gotta post this…I would be ultra interested in your take here..

    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/article2677098.ece

    ^^^WOw, amazing ish. But if you look in the story and his wikipedia page youll see he says alot of off the wall shit so the dude has been senile for a while.

    this old nigga trying to make some impact by being “real”….smh @ old niggas fighting to keep old time philosophies alive. I had to write a book report about that monkey back in the 10th grade. I actually held these niggas as rock stars or something.

    Though he only saying what alot of people would like to say, so he gets props for having old shriveled gonads. *sarcasm button broken*

    p.s. SMH = So Much Hate

  15. Moxie Says:

    I agree with Jamz. But this is only the beginning 4 Tyler. We havent had a blk man leading the box office like this since maybe John Singleton. Shyt my momz havent been 2 the movies n yrs but she goes 2 TPs joints. I believe hes on the right road…

  16. cOLD Says:

    green did you purposely choose the pic, notice he’s killing himself, … the irony.

  17. green eyes Says:

    cold– you know this

  18. State of Grace Says:

    Tyler Perry apparently vacations in Vancouver:

    http://www.vancouver.craigslist.org/ers/435781245.html

  19. green eyes Says:

    craigslist is the devil. who is craig?

  20. LL(not the rappa) Says:

    I beg to differ with this post green..I AM WITH MOXIE AND Jamz on this one. I went and saw Why Did I get Married and I thought the message he was trying to get at was good, no cooning involved. The movie for once also showed african americans in a good light, good jobs, cars, etc..no one was stripping, playing the “usual’ role etc. Yea, acting coulda been a bit better, but it wasnt that bad. Black man wearing a dress is not cooning, he does what works for him and makes good money. IMHO,I look at tyler perry as a comedian/entertainer..I’m sure others view him in a different light based on these comments and your post..

  21. LL(not the rappa) Says:

    oh..and i dont watch his new sitcom either..not my thing.

  22. EnglandRepresent Says:

    I don’t know who the fuck this Tyler Perry fucker is. Greenie can you please put up posts which are relevant to more than just your average steaming pile of Yankee bum nugget. There are other fuckers from other countries who hit up your spot, eg. me.

    Fred Perry > Tyler Perry

  23. benhameen Says:

    Green eyes! new post at my place! The camera is being held straight!!!!!! check it out…and fuck tyler perry never liked his cross dressing cooning all the way to the bank ass. Hollywood loves a gay black man….

  24. smackaniggajustforlivin' Says:

    green eyes Says:

    October 17th, 2007 at 5:35 pm
    craigslist is the devil. who is craig?

    ***LOL…also, cosign meen….remember that shit that Dave Chappelle said, I think it was when he was on Oprah (only DVR’d it for Chappelle, lol) about how he backed out of (n/h) making a flick, because he went into his dressing room one day, and found a dress in his wardrobe…he was like “WTF is this?”, and his director was like, “it’s a dress- all of the greats have done drag, Flip Wilson, Martin Lawrence, etc….”

  25. Shanti Says:

    I’m kinda on the border with whether Tyler’s really cooning but what I will say is that usually his movies are poorly done, stereotypical, and the characters are one-dimensional. The movies are usually corny as hell and predictable. In my opinion they’re often poor quality. They have no artistic value but obviously its what people like and like Jamz said, its what’s making the money for him. I guess you can kinda compare what he does to what many artists have been doing in hip hop lately. Anyway, my opinion is all based off his previous movies. I haven’t seen the latest flick so maybe this one will change my mind. I doubt it.

  26. The XFacta Says:

    Everytime I feel that my opinions are outlandish and maybe I’m losing my mind, I read something from someone that confirms that I’m just super intelligent and others need to catch up with my beliefs.. This is one such case!

    I can’t stand this dude. I’ve seen only one of his movies and realized that this clown is just that! I also glimpsed one of his plays wayyy back in the late ’90s and lost all respect for a cross dressing preacher! (Lets not even get into my religious beliefs).. I say all that to say this! Who are the people going to his movies, plays and watching his shows?? Who is supporting this guy?? I just don’t get it… Like my foster mother used to tell me when I was a young strapping 8 year old jerhi curl dripping kid…. “THAT AIN’T NOTHING BUT THE DEVIL!”

    Peace Greenie! I have my respect for your posts and topics.. Keep doing your thing

  27. khan Says:

    THE RETURN OF ATLANTA HIPHOP /(OUTKAST/GOODIE MOB)
    http://www.myspace.com/thelabratzmusic.com

Leave a Reply

